President Donald Trump has signed a new version of his travel ban which still bars new visas for citizens from Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen.

Iraq has been removed from the list. Iraq also released a statement in which it agreed to “increase cooperation with the U.S. government on the vetting of its citizens applying for a visa to travel to the United States.”

The new order specifies that a 90-day travel ban on citizens from the 6 aforementioned countries does not apply to those who already have valid visas or green cards.

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) will conduct a country-by-country review of information that the 6 targeted nations provide to the USA for visa and immigration decisions. Those countries will then have 50 days to comply with U.S. government requests to update or improve that information.

Trump’s new travel order also suspends the entire U.S. refugee program for 120 days, although refugees already formally scheduled for travel by the State Department will be allowed entry.

The new order will go into effect on March 16.

Trump administration officials have said that the goal of the new travel order is the same as the original one: keeping would-be terrorists out of the USA while the government reviews the vetting system for refugees and visa applicants from certain parts of the world.

Read more at this link:

Legal Immigrants For America (LIFA) is a nationwide 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization.

Donations to LIFA are deductible as charitable donations for income tax purposes.